What the hell am I thinking? Going to a kids concert.

People often complain about the lack of things to do in a small town. I sometimes find myself in that category, but I’m trying to take advantage of more cultural opportunities when they come my way. So when I saw an advertisement for a kids music concert, I put it on the calendar.

The show is tonight, and I just googled the performer. Oh my. Think of the most outrageous stereotypes of kid-centric programming, plaster in in neon, and you have this gig. It’s also one of those events that expects crowd participation (is that a given with kids music? I don’t know). Crowd participation is never my thing- I’m a child of the apathy generation. This kind of sugar sweet, kooky just have fun and smile BS doesn’t really jive with this Mama. I don’t know if I hope my kids hate it or love it. If they hate it and then it was a waste of time. If they love it and then we might be stuck listening to these songs for months.

We’re still gonna go. Just don’t tell Totrock Dad, he may be less likely to embrace the “even if it sucks it’ll be a good story” reasoning. Deep breath. Wish me luck.

2 thoughts on “What the hell am I thinking? Going to a kids concert.

  1. Pingback: We survived a kidz dance party. | Tot Rockin'

  2. Pingback: Loud. Fast. Hard. Live Banjo. | Tot Rockin'

Leave a Reply

