Watch me pull a rabbit out of my…

There are fewer things that make this Mama smile than to have my kid recognize a song and start singing it before the opening verse. My kid loves this song. Even if I’m merely humming it, or happen to let out a “bump bumm” he starts swaying to the rhythm and will join in. This kid knows the way to my heart.

Song: Mr. Rabbit by Paul Westerberg 

Kind: Awake Baby

Why it’s a Tot Rocker: Believed to be an African American children’s folk song depicting Briar Rabbit, and generally understood to be describing a Briar Rabbit story.  It’s a catchy song, it’s about an animal, you can add in your own nonsense words with the guitar plunks and it’s a great song. Other versions however, don’t have  Paul Westerberg’s guitar and phrasing to push it into Tot Rockdom, and a song that more than just kiddos will enjoy.

I almost fell out of my chair the first time I heard this song in a Payless commercial a couple years ago. I’d share it with you, but I can only find mention of it in the blogosphere. (Someone that can score me a link to it will get a high-five.)

Get to know Paul Westerberg. Hear Burl Ives’ version. Save yourself from this version. Learn more about the origins of Mr. Rabbit here and here

One thought on “Watch me pull a rabbit out of my…

  1. Pingback: Awake baby playlist round-up | Tot Rockin'

Leave a Reply

