Wise advice for a hike- thanks Bob.

Bob Dylan’s Walkin’ Down the Line was not going to be the next song featured here. In fact, until yesterday, I had entirely overlooked it’s potential as a Tot Rocker. Yesterday, the TR (Tot Rock) family went on our first hike of the summer. We saw wildlife, we stepped in goose poop, we witnessed a DNR controlled grass fire, and there were snacks- a good time was had by all. wetlands walking the line

To encourage the little scamps to keep out of the tick-infested tall grass and stay on the trail, I started singing Bob Dylan’s Walking Down the Line. I swear unto you I don’t sing this song very often, but I wasn’t two verses in and TR Girl was echoing “Walking down the line, walking down the line.” Either my kid is Advanced, or this is a true Tot Rock Song.

Listen to Walkin’ Down the Line, this version is by Arlo Guthrie and came straight out of a time capsule.
Bob has only played Walkin’ Down the Line in concert 

walking the lineone time, and it’s first (studio released) appearance isn’t until 1991’s The Bootleg Series, Vol 1-3: Rare & Unreleased 1961-1991. Yep, it’s a deep track, but you’ll be glad to find it- promise.

Less obscure, but similar Tot Rockin’ hits: I Walk the Line by Johnny Cash (awake baby), I’m Walkin by Fats Domino (awake baby)

Get to know Bob Dylan.

PS. Kiddos walked the whole way: 1.5 miles in just under 1 hour 20 minutes. The whole idea of a walk in nature is to slow down, but sheesh. Happy Birthday, anyway, Bob.

 

5 thoughts on “Wise advice for a hike- thanks Bob.

  1. Loved this post, Dylan’s my favorite artist and although I haven’t included any songs of his on my blog yet I’m guessing it’s a matter of days!

  2. Pingback: Wise advice for a hike- thanks Bob.

Leave a Reply

