Shot through the heart and I’m to blame

jobovi

The shirt that inspired the hysteria.

It started with a free t-shirt. My Mother-in-law was trying to get rid of a bunch of freebies from a recent charity event. In the pile: a mouse pad, a coffee mug, a chip clip, a bandana, a piggy bank, and a black t-shirt with a totally random graphic. A horder to my soul, the shirt came home, because who knows when it’ll come in handy? My daughter noticed it, “Mama, what’s that?” “That’s Jon Bon Jovi,” I replied. “Job Bovi?” she asked. “Who is that?”

Here’s where I made my fatal error. I could have said, “he’s a musician” or “he’s a man” or even “he’s a banana” would have likely satisfied her. Instead, I blurted the immortal lines, “Shot through the heart and you’re to blame, you give love a bad name.” As a result, I had to sing what I remember of the “job bovi song” 8 more times before she went to bed. Whoops, no one can save me, the damage is done. 

Jon Bon Jovi, the man not the band, still has a dedicated following. And I don’t know anyone who outright hates Bon Jovi‘s You Give Love a Bad NameThe video says it all: 

So where did this shirt come from? The website on the shirt takes you to Jon Bon Jovi fan page- only $60 to join! How 200 of these shirts became thank-you gifts at a motorcycle ride for hospice remains a mystery.

Bon Jovi’s You Give Love a Bad Name is not a Tot Rocker, but right now my daughter enjoys hearing over and over and over. You may recall, an outbreak of a similar nature happened before. My kids’ obsession with Waterfalls? It’s still requested a few times a week, and that hasn’t killed me. We’ll see how this music snob manages JBJ.

See You Give Love a Bad Name on Game of Thrones.  Join the Fanclub

If you saw an image of Jon Bon Jovi- what song would come to YOUR mind first?

2 thoughts on “Shot through the heart and I’m to blame

Leave a Reply

